Sunday, July 29, 2018

Review: Thresher: A Deep Sea Thriller

Thresher: A Deep Sea Thriller Thresher: A Deep Sea Thriller by Michael Cole
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If you enjoyed the original shark horror book by Peter Benchley's "Jaws" then you're in for some deja vu'. I mean this in a good way. There are only so many ways a shark can attack boats, people, and other animals. Its all in the suspense that leads up to these attacks and this book will keep you up all night reading because going to sleep is no longer an option now that you have fully visualized this killing machine that will haunt your dreams if you close your eyes. Dun dun dun da... We all know about GMO's but do we really "know" what long-term effects will be? Bigger better and much much more aggressive, sound familiar? Read in honor of 2018 Shark Week.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Review: City of Secrets

City of Secrets City of Secrets by Victoria Thompson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have been enjoying Victoria Thompson's novels for several years now, and she never fails to provide an exceptional piece of writing. In this series, we are introduced to a young woman, raised by her father who taught her the fine art of grifting. With the help of her fiance who is an upstanding gentleman that prides himself on his honesty must learn to make exceptions to solve the murder and theft of a widows lives savings. Victoria Thompson has developed good solid characters that are genuinely everyday heroes and some dastardly villains that deserve their final punishments. With her vast knowledge of the historical facts during the early 1900th century, she sets the scene with historical events. Always a pleasure to read her books.

“Because sometimes you have to do something bad to do something good.”

― Oscar Wilde, The Complete Fairy Tales



View all my reviews

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Review: Foundryside

Foundryside Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The young thief who has a rune-scribed plate in her head can gain knowledge by touch objects is set on a job to steal a small box for a large sum of money from a heavily guarded warehouse down by the river docks, but nothing is ever as easy as it first seems. With most of the city looking for our young thief she has few options available for her. This book was terrific, and my only negative thought was about the small percentage of crude language used to describe fecal matter. I think this would be a wonderfully illustrated animation and hope there will be more adventures with our team of mix-matched hero's. Will the city be rebuilt? Who will be in power? So many different scenarios...

View all my reviews

Monday, July 16, 2018

Review: Fortune in Blood

Fortune in Blood Fortune in Blood by Phil Philips
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The powerful Peruggia crime family of Los Angeles has bungled an enormous heist and lost the patriarchs eldest son in the ensuing gunfight at the bank. JoeyPeruggia, the carefree surfer son, is now expected to step into his brother's shoes and recover the millions of money sitting in police headquarters. FBI agent has been dating the eldest son and wants her share of the millions along with the corrupt cops who are in the Peruggia's pocket who will breeze the way for the heist. But things never go as planned and this book has plenty of action, corruption and a few good guys who get the job done in the end, but at what cost. The story moved at a good pace with lots of twists and turns to keep the reader's attention. Characters were believable and well developed.

View all my reviews

Review: Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding

Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding by Rhys Bowen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Georgie, who has royal blood and Darcey have finally set a date for their wedding and have been looking for a new place to call home. With her Uncle away on one of his many travels to far off lands, his house has been left vacant with only a small handful of servants employed. Plus strange things have been happening there. Can Georgie get to the bottom of all the shenanigans that have been happening at her new domicile? This story was the first book with Georgie and Darcey as the main characters that I have read by Rhy Bowens. I enjoyed most of the book, but I felt that our main character was a bit of a snob which kind of put me off in fondness for our heroine.

View all my reviews

Review: An Interlude in Berlin

An Interlude in Berlin An Interlude in Berlin by Jefferson Flanders
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As a big fan of James Bond, I naturally assumed that it was a spies job to seduce women for information as part of their job description. But this young CIA man finds himself transferred to Berlin after a messy affair with an upper ranking members wife tries to commit suicide after the incident ended. Do to his loose morals the Russians decide to plant a young actress in his path only to have the tables turned. I liked the story but thought something was lacking; maybe it could have been a longer story with more details.

View all my reviews

Friday, July 13, 2018

Review: Leave No Trace

Leave No Trace Leave No Trace by Mindy Mejia
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When a young man who had gone missing ten years earlier while on a camping trip with his father in the Minnesota wilderness is sent to a mental institution to evaluate him. At the hospital, a young, inexperienced speech therapist is challenged with getting Lucus to open up about where he has been? And where is your father? In a tangled mess Lucus must piece the puzzle pieces together as to why he and his father remained in the woods all these years. When Maya finally earns the trust of Lucus, she learns that his father is deathly sick and Lucus is the only one who can find him. What to do? Small ripples can cause huge after effects.

View all my reviews

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Review: Mountain of the Dead

Mountain of the Dead Mountain of the Dead by Jeremy Bates
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This mystery thriller suspense story based on an actual event takes place in the dangerous Ural Mountains of Siberia in Russia. A band of college students plans to make their level III hike during the winter of 1959, but only one will return home. So many years later an author decides to solve the mystery of what might be the actual events that happened on the mountain by traveling there but will any of them return from their quest? Was this a military cover-up? Are there creatures out there that shun man? A Snowman, Aliens, Yeti or Bigfoot? I found this a story exciting since it is all speculation as to what could have been the exact cause of these unexplained deaths. We will never know what happened that fateful night. The author covers just about every, conspiracy related topic in this the fifth book in the "World's Scariest Places" series. I look forward to reading the first four.

View all my reviews

Monday, July 9, 2018

Review: The Company of Demons

The Company of Demons The Company of Demons by Michael Jordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

With a serial killer who seems to defy aging, he comes back to haunt a loose morals middle age attorney whose father a deceased cop who took his own life instead of facing the shame of not being able to catch this brutal murderer is set up in a big way. What a tangled web people play for their sick enjoyment in this web of lies and deceit. Who can you trust? Are the people you have in your life indeed who they say they are? There were quite a few good continuous situations that kept the action going all through the book.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Review: Shadow Men: It Should Have Been An Easy Kill

Shadow Men: It Should Have Been An Easy Kill Shadow Men: It Should Have Been An Easy Kill by Dan Westerlin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First I would like to thank Dan Westerlin for donating the proceeds of the e-version of Shadow Men to the Navy Marine-Corps Relief Society and Arts in the Armed Forces. I received this book through Goodreads in a generous giveaway. What I liked most about the book were the characters that seem so lifelike. Plus the story coincides with many of the political themes our society is playing roles in at any given moment, like the Mexico/US board, the middle east, terrorism, human trafficking, protestors, news reporters spreading fake news and our elite armed forces that are given the orders to kill on command. The only thing I think that could be improved is to have more details added to the overall story, make the reader feel more of what is happening in the story.

View all my reviews

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Review: COYOTE

COYOTE COYOTE by Kelly Oliver
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I'm a sucker for strong women I can relate too in a story. Jessica James is one of those characters that you feel attuned too right from the very beginning. With her kind robust outlook on finding the culprits that have done wrong to others she is relentless in her search and prosecution of those responsible for their wrongdoings that caused the death of her friend and the human trafficking going on in her home state of Montana. I like the fact that the author speaks out about such atrocities that are happening in America at present, from the exploitation of young girls in the sex trafficking, the constant rape of our natural resources taking place by the use of fracking and the people who make profits more important than human lives. This book kept me so captivated from start to finish I was able to finish in a few hours.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Review: Runes of Issalia Complete Boxed Set: An Epic Fantasy Adventure

Runes of Issalia Complete Boxed Set: An Epic Fantasy Adventure Runes of Issalia Complete Boxed Set: An Epic Fantasy Adventure by Jeffrey L. Kohanek
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I received a copy of Rogue Legacy from Goodreads by author Jeffrey L. Kohanek, I was hooked on the story and the fantastic characters, so it was natural for me to want to read the first three books in this series which I was able to download from Amazon in the form of a box set. Each book is a stand-alone story but being able to read all four books in a row was a real pleasure. I think YA books such as these provide excellent inspiration for our youth of today.
Where the is a will, there is a way!
Being different is okay!

View all my reviews

Review: Warning Light

Warning Light Warning Light by David Ricciardi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Iran is a melting pot of extremes, so when a passenger plane makes an unscheduled landing at a remote off limits airport things start going very wrong for computer analyst Zachery Miller when he is detained for questioning. With only his wits he escapes thus begins the journey back to his homeland. Loved this none stop story that had me up late to finish it, I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good spy book. It was good from start to finish. Is there a sequel in the works?

View all my reviews

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Review: Three Days Missing

Three Days Missing Three Days Missing by Kimberly Belle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Superb writing, a must read for all parents with children. Most of us do not realize that bullying starts at a very young age. If this world is ever going to get better, we need to stop the labeling and brushing specific negative behavior under the rug. From page one I was drawn into the drama unfolding when a smart young boy named Ethan goes on a camping trip only to go missing. With each page, we learn that things are not as pleasant for Ethan at school as his mother was informed. With a specific male student doing his best to make Ethan's life a living hell all because he was smarter than the other children his age. Will we as a human race ever be able to remain unobjective about other individuals differences?

View all my reviews

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Review: Exit Strategy

Exit Strategy Exit Strategy by Charlton Pettus
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Pure anonymity was a subject I never thought about until this book. We have all heard of the witness protection program, so we are all familiar with people who start over with a clean set of credentials. But what about the people who change their identities but then change their minds and want their old life back? In this tale, you'll find genuinely ingenious ways that two people can communicate. Once I got over the awkward start, I was thoroughly engrossed in how these two people were ever going to get back together again against so many obstacles. Will love concur all? Can the villains keep them apart? Is there anyone they can trust? Trust no one

View all my reviews

Review: Your Body is My Prison

Your Body is My Prison Your Body is My Prison by Oksana Leslie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this Syfy kinda paranormal alien themed novel we find a young girl whose body seems to be the prison for an entity from another planet that had committed the crime of murder. While the book lacked the fine tuning of say a Jeffery Deaver or other such author who has published many novels, this book still had the structure that I was able to find enjoyable. Some of the best writing was about fate and how people make some off-hand comments about wanting more rest.. boom next thing you know that person is now in a coma... or how you want your life to be more exciting... what could be more exciting than meeting an alien. I look forward to seeing what this author has next to offer us... maybe a series?

View all my reviews

Sunday, June 3, 2018

Review: Blood Vow

Blood Vow Blood Vow by J.R. Ward
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I liked the two stories that intermingled in the book but found them to be a distraction that made it hard for me to get into the groove of the book. The highs and lows were too extreme for me. You have two sexy intelligent vampires having these crazy sex scenes and they were back to a twelve-year-old girls adoption process. Maybe if I had read the first book it might have made a little more sense to me. But the fighting was minimal and these vampires are not vicious. It was like a daytime soap opera for the bold and batty vampires with their uber-wealthy and then the street thugs. Not my cup of tea but it has some good potential for a long-running series. Thanks for letting me have a copy of this for my honest review here on Goodreads.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Review: The Pope of Palm Beach

The Pope of Palm Beach The Pope of Palm Beach by Tim Dorsey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Serge and Coleman set out on a crazy road trip that has them traveling the roads of Florida on the trail of some famous authors. These two remind me a little of the two guys in "Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas". On their trip, they come across some unsavory individuals and an author who has been in hiding for many years. I enjoyed those madcap antics and was super excited the way the whole story came round robin from beginning to end. It was an incredible rollercoaster ride. Good characters, good plot and some good unexpected scenarios that will have you cheering for the good guys to win. I look forward to reading much more from author Tim Dorsey; he has caught my attention in a big way.

View all my reviews

Monday, May 21, 2018

Review: Zendoodle: 101 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One!

Zendoodle: 101 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One! Zendoodle: 101 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One! by Olivia Summers
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Wonderful and easy to follow instructions that provide step by step picture drawings.

View all my reviews

Review: Zendoodle Box Set: 99 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One!

Zendoodle Box Set: 99 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One! Zendoodle Box Set: 99 Zendoodle Patterns to Inspire Your Inner Artist--Even if You Think You're Not One! by Olivia Summers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A well-planned book that was easy to follow. the only thing I think that could have been done differently was the size of the drawings. There were these small drawings on a big white page.

View all my reviews

Review: The Golden Hairpin

The Golden Hairpin The Golden Hairpin by Qinghan CeCe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We are introduced to a young woman, Huang Zixia, who has lost all her family and is accused of murdering them with poison. She was a prodigy that assisted her father in solving crimes. Her life depends on assisting in solving a string of murders that surround the disappearance of the young princess. By possing as a eunuch in the service of one of the princes she seeks out the culprits involved.
This was a wonderful novel set in ancient China that made me think of some of the famous crime sleuths. I think we can add Huang Zixia to that list as well. Well done!



View all my reviews

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Review: A Chase of Blood on Steel

A Chase of Blood on Steel A Chase of Blood on Steel by Dan Biermeier
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

In society, there are those who wish to live their lives in the not so typical way as others. This is understandable since we all have different needs and wants. In this story, we are introduced to a different type of person, one who enjoys traveling and working for their livelihood; they go by the name of Hobo. Not to be confused with bums or tramps that beg or steal for their sustenance. A group of war veterans helps to track down individuals that use the trains as a way to commit crimes on a never-ending journey across America. I found this book hard for me to get into it but it was still worth reading since I learned so much about a group hidden for the most part from most people eyes.

View all my reviews

Monday, May 7, 2018

Review: Rogue Legacy

Rogue Legacy Rogue Legacy by Jeffrey L. Kohanek
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rogue Legacy was the first book I read by the author Jeffrey L. Kohanek and it was not a disappointment, far from it, it was amazing. With my Amazon Unlimited, I have just added the Runes of Issalia Complete Boxed Set: An Epic Fantasy Adventure so I can read the first three books because I so enjoyed Rogue Legacy. It reminded me of a beautiful Disney movie.

View all my reviews

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Review: Brimstone

Brimstone Brimstone by Daniel Foster
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I found this book a little hard to follow in the beginning with the flip-flopping from a man's diary to a family in crisis, but once you got into the heart of the story you found that it is an enthralling hair-raising tale of a creature in torment and how a young man can change into a dire wolf will save the day. Not for the faint of heart, this tale might keep you up at night....

View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Review: Why Kill the Innocent

Why Kill the Innocent Why Kill the Innocent by C.S. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The British Navy used what was called impressment, or “press gang” as it was more commonly known, was recruitment by force. In some case men left behind families with no means of support.
In this book, we delve into the life of a young pregnant woman whose husband was taken by such a gang and left to fend for herself and her children. When Hero and Alexi travel during a severe snowstorm to assist in the birth of this women's child, they stumble upon the body of the Princess Carolines piano teacher laying dead, but there is no blood from her wound, so she did not die where they found her. No scandal must prevent the betrothal of Caroline to her dutch suiter, so the crime has been listed as an accident, but Sebastion knows that this is far from the truth. With the help of his wife and friends, they unravel the mystery surrounding this women demise.

I have read several books from this series, and each book is a stand-alone mystery. I have enjoyed each and everyone and hope to read all the books in this historical fictional mystery. Good can prevail over evil.

View all my reviews

Friday, April 20, 2018

Review: Where the Dead Lie

Where the Dead Lie Where the Dead Lie by C.S. Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this world, evil people have always preyed upon the weak and in this book, Viscount Sebation Devlin does what he does best and that is bringing the evildoers to justice. With the aid of his surgeon friend and his wife Hero, they embark on the trail of the wealthy culprits who have been brutally torturing and killing the street youths abandoned when their parents were sent to Botany Bay for their crimes. Sebastian finds that five copies of the book "120 Days of Sodom" written by the Marquis de Sade has been smuggled into the country and that the story within its pages is being played out in London. I loudly applaud this tale for its reminder that we need to seek out those who do evil and bring the perpetrators to justice, no matter how big their wallet is, or to whom they are related to.

View all my reviews

Review: Quaker's War

Quaker's War Quaker's War by Jason Born
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I can remember listening to my fifth-grade teacher Mrs. Hall reading to us the story of Johnny Tremain who was a young apprentice to Paul Revere. At that moment I became a huge fan of historical novels, and this story by Jason Born has found a place on that bookshelf as well. From the beginning to end the young Ephraim a runaway Quaker, who has been tasked by his employer to follow the young George Washington to the French forts in the Ohio Valley to ask them to leave. In this tale, we meet the Iroquois half king, and together they track down and kill a young French officer who had murdered Ephraim's wife, their unborn child and his father-in-law. This act is the catalyst that started the seven-year Indian war. I am looking forward to the next installment of this exciting tale in our American history.

View all my reviews

Monday, April 9, 2018

Review: Nova Episodes: Survivalism

Nova Episodes: Survivalism Nova Episodes: Survivalism by Shaawen E. Thunderbird
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this doomsday scenario, the earth breaks up, and the survivors face rebuilding a world where individuals have telekinetic powers and can heal their bodies. This SyFy series is off to a great start with its unique characters. Loved the humor and I look forward to seeing what is in the future for this crew of fighters.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Review: Battle of the Soul

Battle of the Soul Battle of the Soul by Carl Alves
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Being different has many drawbacks, but when you can enter the soul of a possessed person to battle demons, you are a Godsend to those individuals and their families. In this horror tale in the city of Philadelphia, we meet Andy Lorenzo a loner, junk food addict and demon fighter who is sent to exercise the demons in a young girl from south New Jersey who is not only possessed by one demon but four. How will Andy overcome the odds and eliminate the demons? With the aid of Andy's guardian Monsignor Curran and Lucus an experienced mercenary for the church, they fight the demons only to find out that Lucifer himself resides in the young girl. But why is Lucifer so interested in Andy? Could Andy be Lucifers, son? You are just going to have to read this book to find the answer. I hope that this author brings Andy back for more of his adventures while fighting demons in your soul.

View all my reviews

Review: Flood: The Story of Noah and the Family Who Raised Him

Flood: The Story of Noah and the Family Who Raised Him Flood: The Story of Noah and the Family Who Raised Him by Brennan S. McPherson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This story brings us the tale of the biblical Noah and the great flood. Having read several books on the subject, I found it an enjoyable tale of how God chooses his leaders. In a previous book I read called "The Buried Book," you are introduced to Gilgamesh and the library that was discovered by several archeologists and their quest to unearth the meanings on the clay tablets. One of the tablets talked about Noah and the flood. While this book is fiction, the story revolves around Noah, his father, and grandfather who God speaks to. The bible has many tales of how to reach heaven, and this one is of those stories of how God can change your life when you follow his teachings.

View all my reviews

Review: Sarcophagus

Sarcophagus Sarcophagus by Ben Hammott
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this story, you are transported back to the early 1900's when everyone was into being a budding archeologist. When a fellow scientist finds a lost Mayan civilization, he requests the assistance of his fellow scientist to come and arrange transportation of the artifacts back to London for the new exhibit that the museum is curating for a big public exhibition. One of the many objects is a sealed sarcophagus that has ancient writings that forwarn of an ancient alien that the Mayans trapped inside. While transporting the sarcophagus by ship, an unwelcome stowaway seeks to burglarize the shipment and undoubtedly unleashes the alien that runs around eating and growing in size after each large meal. With the help of a gold woven net, they capture the creature and reseal the sarcophagus. But is the beast dead for good? Or will he come back during the main exhibits event? You will just have to read the book to find out. If your an Indiana Jones or a Mummy fan than this is your book. There was plenty of blood and villains who fell prey to the beast in the sarcophagus.

View all my reviews

Monday, March 19, 2018

Review: Mud Puddlers

Mud Puddlers Mud Puddlers by Shaun Bailey
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

When the Hoover or Boulder Dam was being built in the thirties many individuals were still fighting for the few jobs that were being offered. On weekends many of the workers headed out to Las Vegas and William is no exception but William is constantly hawking his numbers game all to the consternation of his bosses at the Big Six company. Another of Williams downfalls is his big mouth always spouting off about work conditions and how he and his fellow workers should picket for better working conditions by involving a Union. With so many people wanting to see Willaim disappear never to be seen again I was surprised how he kept just one small step form that happening.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Review: The World Itself Departed

The World Itself Departed The World Itself Departed by J.B. Beatty
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another zombie apocalypse that has similar characteristics to the movie Zombieland where there this uber cool, sexy AK-47 toting high school female teenager teaming up with a dorky male counterpart from her high school in this satirical look at what happens when the sheet hits the fan when everyone starts dying from a strain of Flu. As a major fan of horror flicks, I enjoyed the way the characters interacted and found that having a sense of humor can help keep your sanity. If this were a Horror movie, I would have had my brains eaten by now...... sign me up for the next book in this series, I'm hooked!


View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Review: Night Moves

Night Moves Night Moves by Jonathan Kellerman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When a Hollywood suburbanite family returns home from their routinely scheduled dinner out the husband finds an unexpected dead body of a male in his study with the face blown clean off along with their hands sawed off. Lieutenant Milo and Dr. Alex Deleware team up in this the thirty-third novel in that series to unravel all the clues that will lead eventually to the killer or killers. Having just finished a true crime novel that outlined the psychopath checklist, my first thoughts were that one of these quirky characters has got to be a devious psychopath. But is there just one? The story speeds along at a rapid clip almost like we are in the car with Lieutenant Milo at the wheel, LOL. Thank you for sending me this ARC copy in exchange for my honest review, I am passing it along to another who enjoys the Alex Deleware series as much as I do. Keep them coming! Mr. J. Kellerman, eventually I will get to read all the rest of these great stories. Its a wonder Milo a big man with all the food he puts away.

View all my reviews

Review: With One Shot: Family Murder and a Search for Justice

With One Shot: Family Murder and a Search for Justice With One Shot: Family Murder and a Search for Justice by Dorothy Marcic
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Closer is a glorious feeling when you're left with a hole where a devastating event has torn your world apart when someone you love was violently murdered, and justice is unserved. When a family is left with few answers and the murderer gets off on a flimsy insanity plea the author seeks to find the facts that lead to her Uncles death when she was a young teenager. Can she piece the clues back together after so long? In her quest to unravel and locate witnesses and all the official reports taking several years she finally knows most of the truth surrounding her veteran police officer Uncle's brutal death and the cover-up by a first-class psychopath. A gripping tale of insanity, coercion, and death on a one-woman roller coaster ride through murder. Thank you for sending an ARC copy for reading pleasure in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Review: Ice Wolves

Ice Wolves Ice Wolves by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Everyone in Vallen knows that Ice Wolves and Scorch Dragons are enemies. When 12-year-old Anders and his twin sister Rayna who were orphaned after the last Wolf and Dragon war find themselves torn apart they each try to find a way to find each other. But how can they explain to their new friends that their sibling is an enemy? While Anders is welcomed into the Wolf Academy his thoughts are constantly on finding his sister a scorch dragon. But how is this possible? How could there be a wolf and a dragon from the same family? In this harrowing tale of family and a country divided we learn that everyone has their own problems and that by helping each other we inevitably help ourselves. I am looking forward to the next installment in the Elementals series. Will the Wolves and Dragons learn to work together or destroy each other? I think with the help of Anders and Rayans new friends the country of Vallen is going to go through some drastic changes, hopefully for the better for everyone. I really liked how this story looks at how it feels to be different and to have secrets and that finding the right friends can bring out the best of your abilities. I was sent an ARC copy from entering a Giveaway from @Goodreads in exchange for an "honest" review. Thank you, Harper Collins, for mailing the book, Amie Kaufman for her insight into making this story worth reading again and again and Goodreads for their webpage offering giveaway books.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Review: Absolute Madness: A True Story of a Serial Killer, Race, and a City Divided

Absolute Madness: A True Story of a Serial Killer, Race, and a City Divided Absolute Madness: A True Story of a Serial Killer, Race, and a City Divided by Catherine Pelonero
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

True crime author Catherine Pelonero presents the facts in what has become an all too typical occurrence in our society when individuals have fallen through the mental health wormhole of our nation to become serial killers or mass murderers. From page one I was intrigued by how the story unfolded from the first murders in Buffalo where the suspect used a .22 caliber gun and on into New York City where he stabbed several unarmed men to death. It was like a puzzle unfolding how the Police were able to piece together who the suspect might be even though he did not resemble his wanted posters in any way. While the killer targeted blacks, he felt that he was not a racist while many believed he was. If Joesph Christopher had received treatment when he asked for it would his victims still be alive? Why are we still having these problems of individuals in our society not receiving help? Get your copy today!
I received this hardcover book from #Goodreads in exchange for an honest review of this novel published by Skyhorse Publishing November of 2017.


View all my reviews

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Review: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aiden must inhabit eight of the other guests at the party to solve the mystery or be forced to repeat history over and over again. His mind jumps from person to person trying to solve the mystery of who kills Evelyn Hardcastle in her old home by the lake where her brother died 19 years before with dark and dangerous consequences. Her parents have arranged a wedding that ensures their families financial future, but Evelyn has other plans.
The Footman will kill you if you do not answer the riddle of who killed Evelyn Hardcastle by eleven pm each night while you are trust into eight different guests. Loved how they were able to piece all the clues together all the while having to watch over your shoulder at all time, so the Footman does not kill you with his sharp knife. It was an exciting challenge for Aiden when he woke up in different bodies since they ranged in age, with health issues, so was limited to what he could accomplish in the allotted time. My first impression was that it was like the movie Ground Hog day with a dark, murderous mystery theme. Hope to see more from Stuart Turton I thought his descriptions of the scenes were enlightening I could almost smell the decay or the forest.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Review: Blood Demons

Blood Demons Blood Demons by Richard Jeffries
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Gruesome, disgusting life force eating Hindu blood demons team up with an Afganistan terrorist who tries to trap some elite soldiers in a cat and mouse game. But these demons have met their match in this high tech world where a group of ex-military with unlimited resources and brilliant scientists has launched a scheme to rid the world of these evil entities. Author, Richard Jefferies Blood Demon book, is not for the faint of heart with its eye-popping details of bodies ripped apart in minute details that will make your stomach queasy. The only thing I thought that could be done better was the sexual overtones on females. I could see this as a significant cult classic film with beautiful sexpots, rugged men, and devilish demons. This book was sent to me in Kindle format in return for an honest review from #NetGalley.


View all my reviews

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Review: The Mystery of Julia Episcopa

The Mystery of Julia Episcopa The Mystery of Julia Episcopa by John I. Rigoli
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

History seems to have a way of being rewritten to fit what those seeking it wishes us to read for there own gains. In this historical fiction surrounding one of the biggest taboo's still to this day is the history of women and their roles as religious leaders in the Catholic religion. In this story we find two women archeologist tasked with finding any reference to females in the Church hierarchy. When they discover a corrected scroll mislabeled in the Vatican archives, they find themselves on the trail of a young roman woman who could be the first women bishop in the Catholic faith. Can they share their findings with the world without being labeled a man-hating feminist or have their careers destroyed by those who refuse to believe their conclusions? In this fantastic tale of Julia, we follow her life from pampered daughter in Rome to her unfulfilling marriage and her desire to spread the word of Jesus. #Netgalley #Goodreads

View all my reviews